PC and VR Game Panoptic Now Available On Steam

by

Belgian developer Team Panoptes has announced the release of Panoptic today on Steam. The hide-and-seek VR game is now available on HTC Vive, Oculus Rift, Valve Index and Windows Mixed Reality, for €16.99 / $16.99 / £14.99, with a 40% discount. In addition, the developers will celebrate the launch during a special livestream on Twitch, today at 9pm CET / 8pm BST / 3pm EDT / 12pm PDT.

Panoptic is a local multiplayer VR game that pits two players against each other in a stealthy game of cat and mouse, as either the giant Overseer or tiny Challenger. Will the Challenger slip away undetected through the crowds, or will the Overseer track them down with their powerful laser eye?

Panoptic sees one player enter virtual reality as the Overseer, a powerful being that searches the world and its inhabitants for any signs of uprising. The other player uses the PC, and becomes one of the tiny Beings under the watchful eye of the Overseer. Tasked with destroying the Overseer’s energy sources, blending in becomes critical. A misstep, breaking away from the crowd cover of other Beings, or being spotted destroying an energy orb turns the search into a nerve-wracking hunt. Armed with a slow-charging eye laser capable of killing a Being with a single shot, the Overseer will suddenly have the advantage, as the dissident Being attempts to once again hide in plain sight.

With a mysterious atmosphere that hints at a dark and secretive lore, Panoptic features several levels and environments, a wondrous sense of scale, and short – but constantly intense – rounds of local 1v1 competition.

More information on Twitter, on Discord or on panopticgame.com.